September 2017



Welcome to the first issue of Monthly Member News (MMN)!
Thanks for getting yourself involved in your membership! Let us know how we can help!



ABC of Iowa Apprenticeship and Training Trust offers a wide range of education opportunities to our members to assure all construction company employees are well trained to meet the vigorous demands of the industry.

The first week of evening classes will be:

Sept 11 - Grimes
Sept 18 - Hiawatha/Davenport

Find your class schedule here!

Learn more about Welding Classes here!


Questions? Contact the Apprenticeship team at 515-985-1160.

---

Hiawatha Open House

Months of work and preparation are about to come to a fruitful end, and new beginning! An Open House will be held on October 10, 2017 (from 4-7pm) at the newest Iowa Construction Education Center in Hiawatha, 1482 N. Hawkeye Dr., Hiawatha, IA 52233.

Governor Reynolds and Lt. Governor Gregg will be in attendance. Reynolds will be signing a Proclamation for Careers in Construction Month. This is the second year in a row that an Iowa governor has visited an ABC of Iowa apprenticeship training facility, a fact that we at ABC of Iowa are very proud of!

All are welcome to attend the Open House which includes a tour of the building, classrooms and Career Exploration Trailer. Food and drink will be provided.



 
ABC of Iowa Presents Rep. Rod Blum with Award

Congressman Rod Blum received a "Champion of the Merit Shop Eagle" Award. ABC board member Kristin Price and John Bodensteiner, both of Price Electric, presented this award.

Blum joins fellow Congressmen Young and King, as well as U.S. Senators Grassley and Ernst in receiving this award.




MEMBER DISCOUNT OF THE MONTH:

The Contractors Plan

The Contractors Plan allows members to manage all their benefit plans in one place such as:
  • Major Medical
  • Retirement
  • Dental
  • Disability
  • Vision
  • Critical Illness
  • HRA
  • Limited Medical
  • Gap
  • Life

All set up fees are waived for ABC Members.
Learn more about The Contractors Plan discount here.

Are you taking advantage of the Member Discounts available to you and your employees?

Check out the Savings Calculator to see how much your company can save in additional to your other membership benefits!




Are you taking advantage of our Safety offerings?
In additional to the Safety Training available to our members, these daily training videos and weekly newsletters are available at discount.

Safety Meeting Outlines has been publishing Weekly Safety Meetings for over 35 years. Their meetings have become the standard for jobsite toolbox talks in the construction industry. They specialize in making toolbox talks easy and effective for contractors like you. $65/year

Purchase a yearly subscription to Training Network Now, and you'll have full access to videos for new employee orientation and on-going employee safety training.

Members will also have access to OSHA compliance and HR support videos, helping you ensure the highest quality standards for your company.

24/7 access to mobile-friendly videos. All available with closed captioning, and many in Spanish. $150/year

Contact Dale today to get started!




Join us for the Fall Golf Outing, taking place on September 20th from 10-5 at the Tournament Club of Iowa in Polk City, IA.
                      
Sign up yourself or a team of four! Cost is $130 per person, or $450 per team, and includes 18 holes, cart, lunch, and evening Hors D' Oeuvres.
Excellence In Construction
Projects submissions were accepted until August 31, 2017.                                                          
Judging is in progress and winners will be announced at the 2017 Awards Ceremony taking place on October 26 at Prairie Meadows in Altoona, IA.



Specialty Tax Incentives for Mechanical, Electrical, and Plumbing (MEP) Contractors

Wednesday, September 13, 2017

1:00 p.m. (ET) / 12:00 p.m. (CT) / 11:00 a.m. (MT) / 10:00 a.m. (PT)

60 minutes

Speaker: BRAYN Consulting

PRESENTED BY ABC’S STRATEGIC PARTNER - VIEWPOINT

WEBINAR DESCRIPTION

Construction is a dynamic and ever-changing field. MEP contractors have the experience and expertise in finding new ways to increase efficiency, meet new safety and building codes, and maximize space for a growing population. With each project comes new challenges to conquer and with each new challenge comes a new opportunity for lucrative tax incentives. Join us for a special webinar presented by BRAYN Consulting to learn more about how you and your firm may qualify for these tax incentives.


The Speed of Innovation and Mastering the Art of Change

Thursday, September 14, 2017

2:00 p.m. (ET) / 1:00 p.m. (CT) / 12:00 p.m. (MT) / 11:00 a.m. (PT)

60 minutes

Speakers: Dave Anderskow, President and Sr. Business Advisor, Palmer Group and Brad Elson, Sr. Business Consultant, Palmer Group

PRESENTED BY PROCORE

WEBINAR DESCRIPTION

Join change superheroes Dave Anderskow, President and Sr. Business Advisor, Palmer Consulting with 22 years of industry experience, and Brad Elson, Sr. Business Advisor with 12+ years of improving culture and business processes, as they walk you through how to innovate without fear, implement technology for success, improve company culture to accept change and understand Organizational Change Management (OCM) and why it’s crucial to business success.


The Importance of Branding: Best Practices

Wednesday, September 27, 2017

2:00 p.m. (ET) / 1:00 p.m. (CT) / 12:00 p.m. (MT) / 11:00 a.m. (PT)

60 minutes

Speaker: Dit Vannouvong, Ram Commercial Advertising Manager, FCA

WEBINAR DESCRIPTION

Join Dit Vannouvong, Ram Commercial Advertising Manager, in this webinar as he shares branding best practices along with universal marketing lessons he has learned building both small and large brands.